Agar agar is a gelling agent derived from red algae. It is often used as a vegan or vegetarian substitute for gelatin or as a vegetable when rehydrated. Agar agar comes in a variety of different forms such as powders, bars, flakes, and strands. This dried agar agar is in strand form and is suitable for all uses from seaweed salad to yokan (Japanese jellied sweets).
Uses: Soak agar agar in cold water for about 15 minutes or until soft. Cut agar agar into pieces to eat as a vegetable or dissolve in boiling water to make jellies and desserts.